Where light grows

I’ll tell you what I’ve found amidst the sands,

The whooping breeze, the barren seas, a dune

To sit a miserable heap, too dry to stand.

I’ll tell you what I saw against the moon,

A frightening beast, not yet deceased, with teeth

Like swords and eyes of amber, whimpering tune.

I’ll tell you what I’ve heard betwixt the trees

While shadows long, the day far gone, a word

Too cruel, too sad, depleting; listen: wheeze.

I’ll tell you what I’ve felt–but no, absurd;

My secrets sleep, indeed I keep compiled,

Locked up, away, the answers, this, deferred.

And how it breaks, with gasping aches, waste–wild–

So savage, feral, barbarous; still yet, beguiled

Leave a Reply

