Attn Windows 7 Users

I am considering sending my uncle a boquet of roses this morning. I learned a trick a laptop or two ago from him that has remained dormant in my mind for over four years. Today, since I have heeded the words of the wise for these four years, I have finally reaped my reward.

Somebody help me!

A few days ago, I tried to turn my laptop on. The power button comes on, and the manufacturer page comes up, but then it stops. There is no option to ”press f9 for boot menu,” or, ”press ‘esc’ for setup options,” nor is there any other divulgent piece of information. First, a little Intel logo at the bottom right corner appears; then, the screen switches off for a few seconds. Next, the logo comes up again.
This repeats forever and ever, til death do us part.

Unless you’ve experienced it for yourself, I can’t even begin to explain the collision of ostentatious emotions that erupt inside of your head when you realize that your computer and files are very much beyond your reach.

Of course, any HDD can be utilized by another PC to explore and recover these file, providing the HDD isnt corrupt or physically damaged, but it just seems that a friend has died–certainly not like a person, but perhaps like a fond pet–and now you are disconnected. (Thankfully for me, however, I had recently run a backup.)

Today I am going to offer you a little trick to keep you from having to burry your electronic information-guzzling pet six feet under. Its not going to work for every problem you have with your PC, but if you just can’t seem to boot and you don’t want to manually reset CMOS (or have reset it to no avail), it just might work.

Please bear in mind that I speak for only Windows 7 users, and perhaps an even more acute number of people who utilize the same software and hardware combinations that I do, although for personal reasons I won’t be divulgung that information on this particular medium.

CREATE A SYSTEM REPAIR DISK, you stubborn Windows user. Of all the annoying things we could accuse Microsoft of doing, that little red flag poping up on your task bar isn’t one of them. At least, not this time.

Make the cotton-picking system repair CD.

‘Well, I’ll just use a thumb drive.”

Sure! Well, actually, what if your computer refuses to read your usb drives for whatever reason? If you are in a dire straight, the only thing your PC may be able to read is your internal CD/DVD drive. Keep a thumb drive for convienience; you will probably never have issues using it. But keeping a CD just in case is always a healthy practice.

Maybe you don’t have an internal CD drive; they certainly are becoming obsolete at a quick rate. The point is, just make sure you can run system restore from external files and bring your PC back into the realm of the living. That’s all I am trying to say.

Exasperation!

I hate when bloggers lure me into their support post with claims that they can assuredly cure my technological illness and then, just when I have finished sorting through all of the introductory bullshit to their absurdly simplistic and overly-generalized set of instructional steps, they proceed to close out their argument, usually with an ending like, ”hope this helps!” I am going to attempt not to do that. I am, however, going to subcontract out a perceived solution in the form of the links below, since I see no reason to rehash what has already been written simply enough into a more complex and less user-friendly structure just to accumulate more words on a blog post (as I am perhaps already in danger of doing with this paragraph!)

Of course, these options can all be run in Windows, all without externally-located files (except when you want to attempt a ”clean” or ”repair” Windows install).

If you can’t boot into Windows, though, or can’t make it to safe mode, these externally-allocated tools serve well as your first line of defense.

Hopefully The Only Tool You Will Need

What To Do Next: System Repair to the Rescue! (Maybe)
-You will probably just want to use the ‘restore point’ method.

If that doesn’t work, try the big guns:

I Just Want the Damn Thing To Boot Up, or, Screw It, It’s Clean-Install Time (part 1)

What To Do When You’re Standing At The Edge Of No Return (part 2)

Important Note!

Be aware that with the big guns comes the need to back up your personal files because, if your operating system is in critical condition, you will most likely be forced to erase all of those files in seeking and divulging the cure.

“Hope this helps!”

Oh, and one last piece of advice. If you really have a problem that you can’t seem to solve, use a dang online forum like this one or a dang help forum like this one.

Leave a Reply

