“The Curse of Religion” or “A Thousand Shades of Grey”

When you see it, you’ll believe

When it crashes down, you’ll see

When the shit comes rolling in

Stand beside me.

I wish I could reach out my hand

Give you my mind

Let you see through my eyes

And feel through my heart

Hear the words congregating around my soul.

I wish I cold save you

If it were only that easy.

Instead I reach out and craft in words

At just the right moment–or so I hope–

The chiseled idea out of thin air,

And press it into the canyon of your heart.

The next day comes,

Oh, how the next day comes.

When you see it, you’ll believe

When it crashes down, you’ll see

When the shit comes rolling in

Stand beside me.

Beware the sword I bear;

Beware the brand on the skin of my soul.

I won’t ask permission

I won’t ask forgiveness

Give in to love’s demand

Be broken, and live.

I’ll break you good.

Yield your body to the sacrifice;

I’ll make you go all the way

Brand your soul with the glowing iron

Etch the name into your flesh

The next day comes,

Oh, how the next day comes.

When you see it, you’ll believe

When it crashes down, you’ll see

When the shit comes rolling in

Fucking stand beside me.

Leave a Reply

